Restaurant Octave, Antwerpen

Belgian cuisine with a twist

Belgian cuisine, chocolate and desserts

Restaurant Octave

Octave serves a pure, intuitive cuisine that combines classic tastes with contemporary influences.

Octave is open tuesday till saturday from 10.00am.
Closed on Sundays and Mondays.
During the holidays we are closed:
Sunday 22 December
Monday 23 December
Tuesday 24 December
Wednesday 25 December
Sunday 29 December
Monday 30 December
Tuesday 31 December
Wednesday 1 January

Reserve online or dial +32 3 207 08 18.
For groups of 12 persons and more: reservations@​tbce.​be

See you soon!

Make a reservation

Restaurant Octave, ode aan de smaakpioneer, Octaaf Callebaut

Ode to a taste pioneer, Octaaf Callebaut

Octaaf Callebaut stemmed from a family of beer brewers. He was the only one of the family who did not know exactly what to do with his life. Brewing was not his thing, however. In the end, his father entrusted him with the family firm’s eighth production line. ​“See what you can do with it.” He started experimenting quietly with cocoa beans, sugar and milk behind the factory.

The fragrance of his first chocolate broke through the smell of beer in the family firm in 1911. The workers of the factory were curious and came to have a look. ​“What is that brown, syrupy stuff?” one of them asked. He was the first who could try the chocolate directly out of the conche. They were all enchanted by the velvety smooth, sweet taste. The news of the birth of mouth-watering chocolate spread like wildfire. ​“Have you already tried that chocolate?”

Octave went in search of new tastes, techniques and products. His wife Juliette stimulates him. The tastes continued to enchant everybody. The 8th line became world famous and grew to the world empire that it is nowadays. The beer brewery no longer exists. Wieze today plays host to the world’s largest chocolate factory.

Octaaf was a Belgian pioneer of tastes. Taste takes pride of place in Restaurant Octave too, where we serve Belgian cuisine with a contemporary twist – naturally under the loving, watchful eye of Octaaf and his wife Juliette. They look on from the wall…

Restaurant Octave, Antwerpen

Une cuisine belge avec une pointe d’originalité

Cuisine belge, chocolat et desserts

Restaurant Octave

Octave est ouvert de mardi jusqu’à samedi à partir de 10.00 heures.
Fermé les dimanches et lundis.
Pendant les fêtes nous sommes fermés:
Dimanche le 22 décembre
Lundi le 23 décembre
Mardi le 24 décembre
Mercredi le 25 décembre
Dimanche le 29 décembre
Lundi le 30 décembre
Mardi le 31 décembre
Mercredi le 1er janvier

Réservez en ligne ou composez le +32 3 207 08 18.
Pour groupes à partir de 12 personnes vous pouvez réserver par email: reservations@​tbce.​be

À bientôt !

Réservez

Restaurant Octave, ode aan de smaakpioneer, Octaaf Callebaut

Une ode à un pionnier du goût, Octaaf Callebaut

Octaaf Callebaut est né dans une famille de brasseurs de bière. Fils unique, il ne savait que faire de sa vie. La bière n’était pas sa tasse de thé. Son père finit par lui attribuer la huitième ligne de production de l’entreprise familiale. « Regarde ce que tu vas faire là-bas. » Il commença en cachette à expérimenter avec des fèves de cacao, du sucre et du lait à l’arrière de l’usine.

C’est en 1911 que l’odeur de son premier chocolat se mêla à celle de la bière au sein de l’entreprise familiale. Les employés de l’usine vinrent jeter un coup d’œil curieux. « C’est quoi cette substance visqueuse et brune ? » demanda l’un d’eux. Il put goûter en premier le chocolat directement de la conche. D’autres collègues lui emboîtèrent le pas. Tous furent enchantés par son goût velouté et sucré. La nouvelle de la naissance des délicieuses pâtes à tartiner au chocolat se propagea comme une traînée de poudre. « Tu as déjà goûté ce chocolat ? »

Octaaf se mit à la recherche de nouvelles saveurs, de nouvelles techniques et de nouveaux produits. Sa femme Juliette l’encourage. Les saveurs continuaient d’enchanter tout le monde. La 8e ligne acquit ses lettres de noblesse dans le monde entier, pour devenir l’empire mondial qu’elle est aujourd’hui. La brasserie ferma entretemps ses portes. De nos jours, Wieze abrite la plus grande chocolaterie au monde.

Octaaf était un pionnier belge des saveurs. Au restaurant Octave aussi le goût est primordial. Vous aurez l’occasion de déguster une cuisine belge nappée d’une touche contemporaine. Naturellement, Octaaf et son épouse Juliette gardent sur les lieux un œil aimant et attentif, depuis les murs de la salle…